book trailer for the dust of 100 dogs

I had far too much fun making this book trailer for A.S. King’s The Dust of 100 Dogs (which I reviewed back when I first read it).

The Dust of 100 Dogs – Book Trailer from J Unrau on Vimeo.

I thought about doing it as a full-on stop-motion project, but decided the technical demands would overwhelm the “telling you about the book” aspects. I kind of like this hybrid form, especially with the way I could control all the lighting with a single off-camera flash.

I made the video in iMovie, thinking I might as well learn to use software more people own than something big and fancy like I’m used to. Also, using this kind of accessible software means it’ll be easier for me to do a “make your own book trailer” kind of workshop when I someday am working in a library.

One thought on “book trailer for the dust of 100 dogs

Leave a comment